Sunday, 1 July 2007

Film Classifications - What do they mean?

According to the independent regulator of the film and video industry in the UK, the British Board of Film Classification, current film classifications are as follows:

– Suitable for all
PG – Parental Guidance Necessary / Some scenes may be unsuitable for children
12 – Suitable for persons 12 years and older
15 – Suitable for persons 15 years and older
18 – Suitable for persons 18 years and older

Do you think that such classifications are out dated? Has our acceptance been fundamentally altered by the main stream media including Big Brother’s explicit language, murder on Eastenders and scene of a sexual nature on Hollyoaks?

Perhaps the classifications no longer mean anything, and besides, will those under 18, 15 or 12 simply get to watch the films anyway by getting the parents to rent or buy them?

Whilst of course we must all live by these broad classifications, maybe a five star rating detailing the level on sex, strong language and violence (or that which might offend) on a DVD cases would be a better indicator, if that is of course you wish to censor what you or others watch….

No comments: